Resource Guides: Applied Research: Collecting Your Data

Research Ethics

The Humber Research Ethics Board (REB) reviews all research involving human participants that takes place within the Humber community. The REB ensures that all research involving human participants aligns with the standards set by the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS). If your research involves human participants in any capacity, you need to apply to the REB for ethics approval. All applications must be reviewed and approved by the REB before any research begins.

humber.ca/ppdr/humber-research-ethics-board

Statistics and Data for Researchers

Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.
Public Use Microdata File (PUMF) Collection
This collection contains microdata files and associated documentation for all available, catalogued, Statistics Canada Public Use Microdata Files (PUMFs). Please note that a statistical software package such as SPSS, SAS or STATA will subsequently be needed in order to run the microdata files and tabulate the results. Contact Caleb Domsy at the Library for access to the PUMF collection.
Postal Code Conversion File (PCCF)
The Postal Code Conversion File (PCCF) is a digital file which provides a correspondence between the Canada Post Corporation (CPC) six-character postal code and Statistics Canada's standard geographic areas for which census data and other statistics are produced. Through the link between postal codes and standard geographic areas, the PCCF permits the integration of data from various sources.
The location information is a powerful tool for marketing, planning, or research purposes.
Contact Caleb Domsy at the Library for access to the PCCF.
Postal Code Conversion File Plus (PCCF+)
The Postal Code Conversion File Plus (PCCF+) is a SAS© control program and set of associated datasets derived from the Postal Code Conversion File (PCCF), a Postal Code population weight file, the Geographic Attribute File, Health Region boundary files, and other supplementary data. PCCF+ automatically assigns a range of Statistics Canada’s standard geographic areas and other geographic identifiers based on Postal CodesOM. The PCCF+ differs from the PCCF in that it uses population-weighted random allocation for Postal Codes that link to more than one geographic area.
Contact Caleb Domsy at the Library for access to the PCCF+.
Discharge Abstract Database (DAD)
Data collected and compiled by the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). This database captures administrative, clinical, and demographic information on hospital discharges (including deaths, sign-outs and transfers).Includes access to SPSS data files for the statistical analysis of topics like quality improvement, utilization management, and more. Contact Caleb Domsy at the Library for access to the DAD.