Unlearning, Disrupting and Dismantling: Necessary Tasks in Addressing Racism
by Aliya Dalfen on 2022-10-25T11:25:54-04:00 in Black Heritage 365, Collections Spotlight, Equity & Inclusion Dialogues | 0 Comments
On November 4th from 9am - 12pm, Dr. Kathy Hogarth will present a workshop on Unlearning, Disrupting and Dismantling: Necessary Tasks in Addressing Racism.
The goal of this session is to provide steps and tools for dismantling racism at all levels: to situate self both as a site of racist oppression and an agent of racial change, and to explore ways of addressing institutional policies and practices.
Along with Dr. Kathy Hogarth's work, Humber Libraries has curated a reading list related to these themes.
Selected Readings on the Quest for Belonging in Canada and Beyond:
A space for race: Decoding racism, multiculturalism and post-colonialism in the quest for belonging in Canada and beyond. by , 2018.
“Who belongs? Who doesn't? Why? With this book authors explore the impact of unquestioned racial assumptions in the Canadian narrative which have constructed an insider/outsider culture. From that baseline, authors then develop an analytic designed to move beyond racialized othering to a society of genuine inclusivity and universal belonging" – Oxford University Press, Inc.
The long road home by , 2022.
“From a leading scholar on the politics of race comes a work of family history, memoir, and insight gained from a unique journey across the continent, on what it is to be Black in North America…The Long Road Home is a moving personal story and a vital examination of the nuances of racism in the United States and Canada. Above all, it is about the power of freedom and the dreams that link and inspire Black people across borders from the perspective of one who has deep ties to, critiques of, and hope for both countries” – Simon & Schuster.
Native presence and sovereignty in college: Sustaining Indigenous weapons to defeat systemic monsters. by . 2022.
“Navajo scholar Amanda Tachine takes a personal look at 10 Navajo teenagers, following their experiences during their last year in high school and into their first year in college. It is common to think of this life transition as a time for creating new connections to a campus community, but what if there are systemic mechanisms lurking in that community that hurt Native students’ chances of earning a degree? Tachine describes these mechanisms as systemic monsters and shows how campus environments can be sites of harm for Indigenous students due to factors that she terms monsters’ sense of belonging, namely assimilating, diminishing, harming the worldviews of those not rooted in White supremacy, heteropatriarchy, capitalism, racism, and Indigenous erasure. This book addresses the nature of those monsters and details the Indigenous weapons that students use to defeat them” – Teachers College Press.
Colour matters: Essays on the experiences, education and pursuits of Black youth by , 2021.
“Based on research conducted in Black communities, along with over thirty years of teaching experience, Colour Matters presents a collection of essays that engages educators, youth workers, and policymakers to think about the ways in which race shapes the education, aspirations, and achievements of Black Canadians. Informed by the current socio-political Canadian landscape, Colour Matters covers topics relating to the lives of Black youth, with particular, though not exclusive, attention to young Black men in the Greater Toronto Area” – University of Toronto Press.
Shame on me: An anatomy of race and belonging by , 2019.
“How do you tick a box on a census form or job application when your ancestry is Scottish, English, French, Portuguese, Indian, Amerindian, African, and Chinese? How do you finally answer a question first posed to you in grade school: "What are you?" And where do you find a sense of belonging in a supposedly "post-racial" world where shadism, fear of blackness, identity politics, and call-out culture vie with each other noisily, relentlessly, and still lethally? Shame on Me is a personal and powerful exploration of history and identity, colour and desire from a writer who, having been plagued with confusion about her race all her life, has at last found kinship and solidarity in story" --Random House Canada.
They said this would be fun: Race, campus life, and growing up by , 2020.
ISBN: 9780771062186
“A powerful, moving memoir about what it's like to be a student of colour on a predominantly white campus…Using her award-winning reporting skills, Eternity Martis connects her own experience to the systemic issues plaguing students today. It's a memoir of pain, but also resilience” – McLelland & Stewart.
Selected Readings on Anti-Racist Pedagogy & Practice:
Culturally relevant pedagogy: Asking a different question by , 2021.
“For the first time, this volume provides a definitive collection of Gloria Ladson-Billings’s groundbreaking concept of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy (CRP)…This compilation of Ladson-Billings’s published work on Culturally Relevant Pedagogy examines the theory, how it works in specific subject areas, and its role in teacher education” – Teachers College Press, 2021.
The equity myth by et al, 2021.
“This book, the first comprehensive, data-based study of racialized and Indigenous faculty members' experiences in Canadian universities, challenges the myth of equity in higher education. Drawing on a rich body of survey data, interviews, and analysis of universities' stated policies, leading scholars scrutinize what universities have done and question the effectiveness of their employment equity programs. They also make important recommendations as to how universities can address racialization and fulfill the promise of equity in the academy” –UBC Press.
Through the fog: Towards inclusive anti-racist teaching by , 2019.
Resisting racism, agitating for change, and walking an inclusive anti-racist path requires commitment to unflinchingly look at one's failures and examine silences. It is work that must be done in all settings: rural, urban, suburban. This book offers all pre-teachers and in-service teachers some perspectives and reflections on engaging anti-racist inclusive practice” –Information Age Publishing, Inc.
How to be an anti-racist by , 2019.
“Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilities--that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their poisonous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves” –Random House Publishing.
New framings on anti-racism and resistance by , 2017.
“This collection of essays explores the teaching and practice of anti-racism education, by way of working through conversations, contestations, and emotions as presented by a diverse group of strong women committed to education and social justice” –Sense Publishers.
Resources curated by Aliya Dalfen, Liaison Librarian.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Borrow Equipment from the Lakeshore Idea Lab!
World Poetry Day
Shaping Sustainable Futures
Humber Archives Presents...The Wayson Choy Fonds
Black Heritage Month 2024
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
0 Comments.