Library Spotlight: Posts

Job Search Resources for UofGH Students

Getting ready to land your dream job after graduation? We've got you covered! Check out these recommended library and online resources to help you prepare and stand out!

Recommended Books

Here are a list of books available through both the University of Guelph and Humber libraries. If you need assistance signing in to either institution see the "Library Accounts" page. 

The Unspoken Rules by Gorick Ng

In this practical guide, Gorick Ng, a first-generation college student and Harvard career adviser, demystifies the unspoken rules of work. Ng distills the wisdom he has gathered from over five hundred interviews with professionals across industries and job types about the biggest mistakes people make at work. Loaded with frameworks, checklists, and talking points, the book provides concrete strategies you can apply immediately to your own situation.

How to Organize My Job Search?: A Step-By-step Guide for Job Seekers and Those Who Support Them by International Labour Office

This guide aims to give young people all the keys to build effective strategies for their job searches and successfully find jobs. The guide focuses on optimal use of digital tools (websites, applications, social networks) as well as how to successfully integrate into the new place of work.

HBR Guide to Your Job Search by Harvard Business Review

Land the job of your dreams. You're ready to take the next step in your career. But securing the right role can take a lot of work--and a lot of time and energy. How do you move forward without getting overwhelmed by the process? The HBR Guide to Your Job Search is here to help. Whether you're new to the workforce or have a well-established career, this book contains practical advice for navigating your job hunt.

Resumes for Dummies by Laura DeCarlo

Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job! In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. 

Get Hired Now! by Ian Siegel

Accelerate your job search, stand out, and land your next great opportunity. In Get Hired Now!, ZipRecruiter founder and CEO Ian Siegel tells you exactly how to find a new job fast. With an insider's view of how over a million employers really make hires, Ian pulls insights from the data to give you step-by-step instructions for writing a resume that works, finding the right jobs to apply to, acing a job interview, and negotiating a job offer.

Get That Job: CVs and Resumes by Bloomsbury Publishing

The ultimate guide to marketing yourself in a CV or resume, and ensuring you make a professional impression in any job search. The job market has never been more competitive, and marketing yourself can be tricky. And nothing raises a red flag for an employer than a poorly-written or badly-presented CV or resume. This handy guide offers practical, step-by-step advice on preparing, writing, and presenting an impressive document - either on paper or online - that will help you to 'get your foot in the door' with prospective employers.

The Prepared Graduate by Kyyah Abdul

Kyyah Abdul offers extensive job search tips and work advice, such as guidance on writing the perfect résumé, excelling in job interviews, networking in-person and online, negotiating job salaries, paying off student loans, and more.

Recommended Databases 

Researching potential employers is an important step in career planning and the job search. Below you will find resources for learning about an organization or company to gather background information. As well as resources to find information about the job market in specific industries.

• Career Cruising: A career exploration tool for learning about careers, exploring interests, surveying education options, and finding jobs.
• LinkedIn Learning: Contains video-based courses taught by industry experts on a wide range of subject areas.
• InfoCanada: Contains listings for Canadian businesses with information on business size, ownership, sales, executives, financial data, and location. It also includes US jobs and internships.
• SimplyAnalytics: Maps demographic, psychographic (Environics Prizm) and company information over geographic areas. Define a target market, pick a business location and/or learn about nearby competitors.
• GlobalData Explorer: Formerly known as Marketline, this database contains Canadian and international company reports, industry reports, country reports, and influencer reports.
• Mintel: Mintel collects qualitative data directly from consumers and helps to answer questions about consumer perspectives, behaviours, preferences, or demographics for major consumer markets. Geographic coverage includes Canada and US.
• Business Source Complete: Scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journal articles and articles from trade journals, company information and industry profiles.
• UofGH Career Resources Library Guide: This Career Resource Guide provides a starting point for career planning and the job search. There are free resources and library subscription databases included here. 

Recommended Online Resources:

Below you will find some additional free online resources with job listings and about the job market.

• Job Bank: Job Bank is Canada’s national employment service. Tools to find work and career planning.
• Talent Egg: A job and online career resource for Canadian students and recent graduates.
• Workopolis Canada: Search by keyword, browse by category, review company information.
• Work in Culture: Job, programs, and resources for creatives.
• Ontario's Labour Market: Information and data about the labour market in Ontario.
• Industry Canada: Government of Canada industry sector data, financial benchmarks, labour trends and business statistics.
• Ontario Job Futures: Provides information on the current trends and future outlook for about 200 occupations common to Ontario.