Library Spotlight: Posts

Interview Preparation Resources for UofGH Students

Preparing for an interview? Don’t worry—we’ve got you covered! Explore these helpful library and online resources to set yourself up for success.

Recommended Books:

Here are a list of books available through both the University of Guelph and Humber libraries. If you need assistance signing in to either institution see the "Library Accounts" page. 

Job Interview Success for Introverts by Robert McIntosh

 If you identify as an introvert and your ambition and passion is hampered by anxiety about taking the next step in your career, this book is for you.

From Classroom to Career by Shirley Morrison

An authentic, engaging, and practical guide to help college grads thrive personally and professionally. 

What Is Your Interview Identity by Chris Delaney

Helping career professionals to be successful in a job interview.  The interview identity book will help readers to be seen as more skilled, more knowledgeable and more hireable.

How to Do Well in a Job Interview by Pílula Digital; Eliana Cristina Borges Ribeiro (Translator)

'How to do well in a job interview' provides valuable lessons that may increase your chances of passing a job interview by almost 100%. It looks like a joke, but it is not! Most people who are looking for a job are not even aware of what happens in a job interview. Ill-prepared they fail the first interview. Sometimes on the second, third, and fourth... Sad reality? Yes. But it's the truth! However, you don't need to go this way, do you?  With the right strategies and the golden tips described in the step-by-step instructions of this book, you can be sure that soon, the job of your dreams will be a reality.

Helping Your Students Write Personal Statements by Stephen Lassonde

Helping Your Students Write Personal Statements analyzes the components of the effective personal statement and provides examples from many successful essays by actual college students, as well as exercises for students.

High-Impact Interview Questions by Victoria A. Hoevemeyer; Paul Falcone (Foreword by)

Offering advice on evaluating answers and assessing cultural fit, the second edition of High-Impact Interview Questions features dozens of all-new questions designed to gauge accountability, assertiveness, attention to detail, judgment, follow-through, risk-taking, social media usage, and more.

Knock 'em Dead Job Interview by Martin Yate

Land the job you want! The interview is one of the most crucial moments of the job search experience and your chance to show your potential employer that you have what it takes to succeed in the position. In order to do that in today's highly competitive job search environment, though, you'll have to find a way to stand out from the crowd. 

Recommended Videos from LinkedIn Learning:

Through Humber you have access to LinkedIn Learning, a database which contains video-based courses taught by industry experts on a wide range of subject areas. Below you will find links to recommended courses and videos. Please note this subscription is managed by Humber, not the Library. Contact 8888 for help.

• Expert Tips for Answering Common Interview Questions: In this collection of bite-sized videos, get expert tips that can help you confidently tackle common questions—and, ultimately, ace your next job interview. 
• How to Rock an Interview: Up your interview game. Learn how to rock an interview and land your dream job.
• Find Your Dream Job: Interview Techniques and Resume Writing: Find your dream job. This course is for people who want to be excited to go into work each day. It’s designed to teach practical skills to write an eye-catching resume and excel in a job interview. 
• ChatGPT Prompts for Jobseekers: Learn how to use artificial intelligence to streamline your job-searching efforts, giving you prompts that can help you apply for jobs more effectively.
• Mastering Common Interview Questions: Preparing for an interview can be daunting. Learn how to master the top 10 most common interview questions you'll encounter when looking for a new job. 
• Impress Interviewers with These Five Questions: Interviews are used to see if you would be a good fit for a specific role. They are also used to determine if an organization would be a good fit for you. Asking insightful questions during your interview can help you stand out from the rest of the candidates for the role.
• Ten Micro-Impressions to Make in an Interview: A successful interview isn't just about making an impression, but rather about making a series of the right impressions—consciously or subconsciously—at a micro level. It may sound overwhelming, but you can make all of the right impressions as a candidate if you plan for it as part of your overall interview preparation strategy. 

Recommended Online Resources:

Below you will find some additional free online resources.

• UofGH Career Services: UofGH Career Services provides tips and strategies for job search, networking skills, grad school applications and more. 
• UofGH Career Resources Library Guide: This Career Resource Guide provides a starting point for career planning and the job search. There are free resources and library subscription databases included here. 
• Humber Career Resources: Tools for writing resumes & cover letters, developing interview skills, and conducting a job search.
• Tips: Grad School Admission Essay: UofGH Career Services provides tips on writing a graduate school admission essay.
• Writing a Personal Statement: Grad School: Guidance on writing a personal statement for graduate school applications.
• Composing A Personal Statement: Invitation to Frustration: This document provides advice on writing a personal statement for graduate school or scholarship applications. 
• Career Clips - Preparing for Job Interviews: The interview is all about you, so make sure you know how to present your skills, experiences, and highlights to others!
• SAGE Skills: Job Search and Interviewing: The sections in this guide will help you hone the communication skills you need for your job search and beyond.