Contact
Credit
The contents of this guide were added or created by Aliya Dalfen and Joseph Chan in collaboration with Indigenous Education and Engagement at Humber College.
Language Lessons and Learning
- 7000 Languages
- 7000 Languages is a non-profit that creates free language-learning software for communities worldwide that partners with Indigenous, minority, and refugee communities who want to create such software. Language learning courses on offer include Cree, Ojibwe, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and more.
- Anishinabe Translator by Isabelle Galton
- This is an app only offered on the iTunes store
- FirstVoices
- FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Indigenous people engaged in language archiving, language teaching and culture revitalization. The site is also useful for non-indigenous people who want to dip their toes into learning and learning about various indigenous languages in Canada, the United States, Australia, and New Zealand.
- Learn Anishinaabemowin
- Language Geek
- Languagegeek is dedicated to the promotion of indigenous languages - primarily those of North America. By providing the tools which speakers, educators, and learners can use to communicate on-line or in print, the realm of computers will no longer be the sole domain of the few global languages. Whether it be e-mails, web pages, or word processing, computers have the potential to be a powerful means to level the playing field among all of the world's languages.
- Native/Indigenous Languages - Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (University of Toronto)
- List of language learning resources gathered by the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education.
- Ojibway by Ogoki Learning Systems (smartphone app)
- OmniGlot
- Omniglot is an encyclopedia of writing systems and languages. The site also has guides on how to learn languages and find a language tutor.
Dictionaries
For more books, search the Library Catalogue
Eshkintam nishinaabemang mzinagan = Introduction to Nishnaabewin by ISBN: 9780973144222This text, Eshkintam Nishinaabemang Mzinagan Introduction to Nishnaabewin, is the required text for Introductory Ojibwe course at Trent University. Students will find this course manual an invaluable learning aid in their journey towards mastering Mishnaabemowin (Native language). While this text is designed to provide a firm foundation for senior language courses, students will find that what they learn in the text will greatly enrich their current understanding of not only jthe Nishnaabe language, but the culture as well. It is hoped that a lifetime of language and cultural learning will ensue from this course.
Anishinaubae Thesaurus by ISBN: 9780870137532Publication Date: 2007-02-02The Anishinaubae (Chippewa/Ojibwe) language has a beauty in the spoken word, a deliberate rhythm, simplicity, and mysterious second meanings. When Basil Johnston began teaching the Anishinaubae language, in the late 1960s, there were no related manuals or dictionaries that were suitable for beginners. To fill this void, Johnston wrote a language course and a lexicon to fill for the course materials. Now he has broadened this labor by compiling Anishinaubae Thesaurus, which goes even further to fill a deep cultural and linguistic void. This thesaurus contains a useful sampling of the 400,000 words that comprise the Anishinaubae language, and it is intended to be a practical reference tool for teachers, translators, interpreters, and orthographers.
Aaniin Ekidong by ISBN: 9780578034645Publication Date: 2009-08-01For the Ojibwe language to live it must be used for everything every day. While most Ojibwe people live in a modern world, dominated by computers, motors, science, mathematics, and global issues, the language that has grown to discuss these things is not often taught or thought about by most teachers and students of the language. A group of nine fluent elders representing several different dialects of Ojibwe gathered with teachers from Ojibwe immersion schools and university language programs to brainstorm and document less-well-known but critical modern Ojibwe terminology. Topics discussed include science, medicine, social studies, geography, mathematics, and punctuation. This book is the result of their labors.
- The Ojibway People's DictionaryThe Ojibwe People’s Dictionary was established by faculty and students in the Department of American Indian Studies at the University of Minnesota
- Nêhiyawêwin Masinahiķan: Michif*/Cree DictionaryISBN: 9780920915936Nêhiyawêwin Masinahiķan: Michif*/Cree Dictionary is a comprehensive resource, featuring thousands of words in the “Northern” or “Ile-à-la Crosse” Michif language. This language consists of a northern Plains Cree base (“Y” dialect) with some French nouns. It is spoken mainly in northwestern Saskatchewan in the following communities: Beauval, Buffalo Narrows, Canoe Narrows, Cole Bay, Dillon, Green Lake, Ile-à-la Crosse (Sakitawak), Jans Bay, Patuanak, Pinehouse, and Turnor Lake. Ile-à-la Crosse Michif is the only Michif language that is taught in a school system. It remains a living language in a region that has a very vibrant and unique Métis culture.
100 Days of Cree by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780889774292Publication Date: 2016-06-30As an Elder once said, "Learn one Cree word a day for 100 days, and emerge a different person." In 100 Days of Cree, Neal McLeod offers us a portal into another way of understanding the universe--and our place within it--while demonstrating why this funny, vibrant, and sometimes salacious language is "the sexiest of them all" (according to Tomson Highway). Based on a series of Facebook posts, the 100 short chapters or "days" in the book present a chain of related words, some dealing with the traditional--the buffalo hunt, the seasons--and others cheekily capturing the detritus of modern life--from Internet slang to Johnny Cash songs to Viagra. The result is both an introduction to the most widely spoken Indigenous language in Canada and the opportunity to see the world, and ourselves, in another way.
Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary by ISBN: 9780888643094Publication Date: 2002-03-01Cree is the most widespread native language in Canada. The Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary/alperta ohci kehtehayak nehiyaw otwestamâkewasinahikan is a highly usable and effective dictionary that serves students, business, governments, and media. This remarkable dictionary includes extensive Cree-English and English-Cree sections based upon both Northern Cree (the "TH" dialect) and Plains Cree (the "Y" dialect). It also includes: parts of speech, a "New Terms" supplement to the English-Cree section, appendices on kinship terms, months and numbers, and terms commonly used in government, courts and other institutions. Work on the dictionary began in the mid 1970s through the initiative of Nancy LeClaire, a Cree nun from Hobbema. The dictionary has had many other generous and dedicated contributors from among Alberta's Cree speakers. The dictionary is designed for speakers, students, and teachers of Cree. [See online dictionary at http://www.creedictionary.com or download the app from iTunes.]
Blackfoot dictionary of stems, roots, and affixes by ISBN: 9781487500863Although thousands of people in Alberta and Montana speak Blackfoot, an Algonquian language, their numbers are diminishing and the survival of Blackfoot is in danger. Blackfoot Grammar, the companion volume to The Blackfoot Dictionary of Stems, Roots and Affixes Third Edition, provides description and analyses of the major features of Blackfoot grammar and language structures. The changes throughout this third edition reflect approaches refined through years of teaching experience. A new appendix, featuring a lengthy Blackfoot text with interlinear English translation has been added, as well as numerous corrections and additions to every chapter. This third edition of Blackfoot Grammar will be a welcome resource not only for those who wish to learn the language, but for all those with an interest in Native Studies and North American linguistics.
