Start Here
Below are links to some good places to start your research on Indigenous communities. Remember to decolonize your research through careful examination of the sources. Be sure to include Indigenous voices in your research.
- Library SearchFind articles, books, videos and more from one search box
- Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines related to Indigenous culture, health, and human geography in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.
- Bibliography of Native North AmericansA bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
- iPortal (Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool)The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Native Health DatabaseThe Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
- Indigenous Services Canada - VirtuaVirtua, the Indigenous Services Canada Library Catalogue provides access to Departmental Library collections, as well as to a number of special research collections at headquarters and in the regions.
Journals & Magazines
Below are scholarly journals and magazines focused on Indigenous peoples.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous PeoplesScholarly / Peer-Reviewed
- Canadian Journal of Native StudiesScholarly / Peer-Reviewed
- Journal of Indigenous ResearchThe Journal of Indigenous Research is designed to provide research data in a way that is understandable to the average person and will also specifically indicate an application of the material presented. These 1500-2000 word articles will be written in non-technical language, state some outcome of the research, explain the importance of the outcome for Native American, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian, Maori people, and will be from the areas of the environment, public health, psychology, general health or education.
- Muskrat MagazineMUSKRAT is an online Indigenous arts and culture magazine that honours the connection between humans and our traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary. MUSKRAT embraces both rural and urban settings and uses media arts, the Internet, and wireless technology to investigate and disseminate traditional knowledges in ways that inspire their reclamation.
- Pawaatamihk: Journal of Metis ThinkersThis new journal is dedicated to uplifting Métis voices, stories, and research and features community stories, poetry, visual culture, book reviews, and scholarly papers. The name Pawaatamihk was gifted by Métis Elder Verna DeMontigny; translated from Michif and Ininimowin, it signifies “a group of people dreaming.” The journal’s Editorial Team is comprised of Métis women based at University of Calgary, University of Manitoba, University of Victoria, and UWinnipeg.
- NAIS : journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies AssociationScholarly / Peer-Reviewed
- SAY MagazineSAY Magazine is the only lifestyle magazine in the world for Native people.
Legal-focused databases:
The Library also has a Indigenous legal research guide that can be found at this link.
- Indigenous Law JournalA University of Toronto student-run legal journal that exclusively publishes articles regarding Indigenous legal issues.