Social Service Worker

An annotated bibliography gives an account of the research that has been done on a given topic. Like any bibliography, an annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of research sources. In addition to citations, an annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value or relevance. Depending on your assignment, an annotated bibliography may be one stage in a larger research project, or it may be an independent project standing on its own (Deborah Knott, New College Writing Centre).

Characteristics: 

• Includes a list of citations to books, articles and documents
• Underneath each citation is a brief description and evaluative paragraph about the research article or book. 
• Informs the reader of the relevance, accuracy and quality of the sources cited. 
• Organized alphabetically by citation. 

Explore examples of Annotated Bibliographies from the University of Toronto and University of Guelph Writing Centres.

Humber Libraries' Page 1+ search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of it as a "Google" search for the library.

With Page 1+ you can:

• Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
• Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
• Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date.
• Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.

Start your search with Page 1+ at library.humber.ca

View the video below for a demonstration of how to find books, peer reviewed articles and more at Humber Libraries. 

What are government publications?

Government publications are normally found on the website of a specific department of the Government. When possible perform the search on the department's website. Some departments have their own searchable catalogues while other departments may just have a list of current publications. Methods of searching for Canadian Government Documents can include: 

• Government of Canada Publications Search
• Searching by Government Agency or Department

What is a social service agency?

• Social service agencies serve specific populations of people within the social service sector.
• Generate and publish reports based on their specific service and sector. 

How to find social service agency publications

• Find a social service agency and look for a an area on their website named "Resources," "Publications", or "Reports"
• Browse for annual reports as well as brochures, newsletters, etc. 
• Read mission / vision statements to learn about the agency

Directories and Databases: 

• Use the Library's Canada Commons database to find government, organization and think-tank publications, policy and reports on a wide variety of topics and issues. It also includes a 4150 directory of Canadian research and government organizations.
• Use Toronto 211 to find relevant Toronto agencies
• Use Ontario 211  to find relevant Ontario agencies. 

What are Position Papers? 

• Reports outlining someone's attitude or intentions regarding a particular matter.
• Published by service organizations, advocacy groups and coalitions to generate support on an issue.

Tips for Finding Position Papers:

• Include the phrase "position paper" in a search.
  • Example: "position paper" poverty

Not sure where to start looking?

• Or, search 211 Central or Ontario 211 to find an agency or social service. 
• Find government agencies and organization to search in the Canada Commons Directory