Library Search
Library Search is our comprehensive search tool - think of it as a "Google" search for the Library.
With Library Search you can:
- Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box.
- Search a wide range of article databases from one place.
- Filter your results by item type, library location, subject terms or date.
- Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.
You can find the search box at the top of every page on the Library website. Start your search at library.humber.ca
View the video below for a demonstration of how to find books, peer reviewed articles and more at the Library.
Key Databases
Explore our Social Science databases to find journal articles and more for your research assignments.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowContains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), a classification manual used by mental health professionals.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, trade journals, and dissertations on behavioral, clinical, developmental, and social psychology.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, dissertations, magazines, and trade journals on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, dissertations, magazines, and trade journals on sociology and social work.
Current News Collections
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowContains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
Search Tips!
Choose keywords carefully
- Choose words specific to your topic
- Only use 2 or 3 main concepts
- Use AND to combine different concepts
Include synonyms
- Broaden your search
- Include medical and popular terminology
- Use OR to combine synonyms for the same concept
Filter your results
- Publication date - for example only items published in the past 5 years
- Resource type - for example only journal articles
Keep trying
- Add/remove search terms to limit/expand your search
- Try different databases
- Research often takes longer than expected