Skip to Main Content

Library Spotlight: Posts

Highlighting library collections, services, supports and more!

International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination

by Aliya Dalfen on 2023-03-13T16:39:20-04:00 in Black Heritage 365, Collections Spotlight | 0 Comments

International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination is observed around the world, every year, on March 21st to reflect on the continual journey to end racial discrimination, to reflect on the progress that has been made on that journey, and specifically, to remember the 69 victims of a terrible moment in history, when on March 21st, 1960, police officers in Sharpeville, South Africa, opened fire on people gathered for a peaceful demonstration against the apartheid "pass laws."

Humber Libraries has brought together a collection of library resources which highlight histories and struggles for the fight against racism: 

Selected Books: 

Cover ArtThe Disordered Cosmos by Chanda Prescod-Weinstein, 2021. One of the leading physicists of her generation, Dr. Chanda Prescod-Weinstein is also one of fewer than one hundred Black American women to earn a PhD from a department of physics. Her vision of the cosmos is vibrant, buoyantly nontraditional, and grounded in Black and queer feminist lineages.  Dr. Prescod-Weinstein urges us to recognize how science, like most fields, is rife with racism, misogyny, and other forms of oppression. She lays out a bold new approach to science and society, beginning with the belief that we all have a fundamental right to know and love the night sky. The Disordered Cosmos dreams into existence a world that allows everyone to experience and understand the wonders of the universe - Provided by the publisher.

 

Cover ArtHow to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi, 2019. 
Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism—and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. At its core, racism is a powerful system that creates false hierarchies of human value; its warped logic extends beyond race, from the way we regard people of different ethnicities or skin colors to the way we treat people of different sexes, gender identities, and body types. Racism intersects with class and culture and geography and even changes the way we see and value ourselves. In How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas—from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilities—that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their poisonous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves - Provided by the publisher.
 
Cover ArtPostcolonial Love Poem by Natalie Diaz, 2020. 
WINNER OF THE 2021 PULITZER PRIZE IN POETRY. Postcolonial Love Poem is an anthem of desire against erasure. Natalie Diaz’s brilliant second collection demands that every body carried in its pages—bodies of language, land, rivers, suffering brothers, enemies, and lovers—be touched and held as beloveds. Through these poems, the wounds inflicted by America onto an indigenous people are allowed to bloom pleasure and tenderness: “Let me call my anxiety, desire, then. / Let me call it, a garden.” In this new lyrical landscape, the bodies of Indigenous, Latinx, black, and brown women are simultaneously the body politic and the body ecstatic. In claiming this autonomy of desire, language is pushed to its dark edges, the astonishing dunefields and forests where pleasure and love are both grief and joy, violence and sensuality - Provided by the publisher.
 
Cover ArtRacism, Not Race : Answers to Frequently Asked Questions by Joseph L. Graves and Alan H. Goodman, 2022. 
In this book, two distinguished scientists tackle common misconceptions about race, human biology, and racism. Using an accessible question-and-answer format, Joseph L. Graves Jr. and Alan H. Goodman explain the differences between social and biological notions of race. Although there are many meaningful human genetic variations, they do not map onto socially constructed racial categories. Drawing on evidence from both natural and social science, Graves and Goodman dismantle the malignant myth of gene-based racial difference. They demonstrate that the ideology of racism created races and show why the inequalities ascribed to race are in fact caused by racism - Provided by the publisher.
 
Cover ArtWayi Wah! Indigenous Pedagogies by Jo Chrona, 2022. 
With over two decades in Indigenous education, author Jo Chrona encourages readers to acknowledge and challenge assumptions, reflect on their own experiences, and envision a more equitable education system for all. Each chapter includes: Reflection questions to help process the ideas; suggestions for taking action in both personal and professional spheres of influence; recommended resources to read, watch, or listen to for further learning; personal reflections and anecdotes from the author on her own learning journey; voices of non-Indigenous educators who share their learning and model how to move into, and sit, in places of unknowing and discomfort, so we can examine our own biases and engage in this work in a good way - Provided by the publisher.
 
Cover ArtThe Proudest Blue by Ibtihaj Muhammad; Hatem Aly (Illustrator); S. K. Ali (As told to), 2019. 
With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first day of school is going to be special. It's the start of a brand new year and, best of all, it's her older sister Asiya's first day of hijab–a hijab of beautiful blue fabric, like the ocean waving to the sky. But not everyone sees hijab as beautiful, and in the face of hurtful, confusing words, Faizah will find new ways to be strong. Paired with Hatem Aly's beautiful, whimsical art, Olympic medalist Ibtihaj Muhammad and Morris Award finalist S.K. Ali bring readers an uplifting, universal story of new experiences, the unbreakable bond between siblings, and of being proud of who you are - Provided by the publisher.

Selected Films and Modules: 

How to Engage Meaningfully in Allyship and Anti-Racism, Published by LinkedIn Learning.

Most of us are learning about allyship and anti-racism for the first time. In this learning path, experts teach you the foundational skills—mindset, communication, and advocacy—you need to be an effective ally and champion for anti-racism in your organization - Provided by the publisher. * Make sure to login using your Humber email.  

I am Not Your Negro (2016), directed by Raoul Peck

In 1979, James Baldwin wrote a letter to his literary agent describing his next project, Remember This House. The book was to be a revolutionary, personal account of the lives and successive assassinations of three of his close friends--Medgar Evers, Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr. At the time of Baldwin's death in 1987, he left behind only thirty completed pages of his manuscript. Now, in his incendiary new documentary, master filmmaker Raoul Peck envisions the book James Baldwin never finished. The result is a radical, up-to-the-minute examination of race in America, using Baldwin's original words and flood of rich archival material. I Am Not Your Negro is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. It is a film that questions black representation in Hollywood and beyond. And, ultimately, by confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassination of these three leaders, Baldwin and Peck have produced a work that challenges the very definition of what America stands for - Provided by the publisher.

Marley (2012), directed by Kevin Macdonald 

Bob Marley’s universal appeal, impact on music history, and role as a social and political prophet is both unique and unparalleled. MARLEY is the definitive life story of the musician, revolutionary, legend, and the man, from his early days to his rise to international superstardom. Made with the support of the Marley family, the film features rare footage, never before seen performances, previously unreleased music, and revelatory interviews with the people that knew him best - Provided by the publisher.

Selected Journal: 

Ethnic and Racial Studies, Taylor and Francis.

Ethnic and Racial Studies is the leading international journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and other forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world. This journal seeks to provide an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of original research and theoretical analysis, drawing particularly on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, international relations, geography, history, social psychology and cultural studies - Provided by publisher.

Curated by Arvind Kang, Liaison Librarian, Faculty of Health Sciences and Wellness and Faculty of Media and Creative Arts 

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Search this Blog


  Recent Posts


Borrow Equipment from the Lakeshore Idea Lab!
World Poetry Day
Shaping Sustainable Futures
Humber Archives Presents...The Wayson Choy Fonds
Black Heritage Month 2024

  Subscribe


Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive


  Subjects


2SLGBTQ+
Black Heritage 365
Collections Spotlight
Creative Arts
Equity & Inclusion Dialogues
Event Spotlight
Idea Lab
Indigenous
Media Studies
News Spotlight
Services Spotlight
Sustainability
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.