Library Spotlight: Posts

Welcome to the Library!

Welcome to the Humber & University of Guelph Humber Library — your hub for learning, research, and discovery. Our library is here to support you at every stage of your academic journey, offering a rich collection of physical and digital resources, quiet and collaborative study spaces, and expert staff ready to help you succeed.

Whether you’re researching for a class, preparing for exams, or simply looking for a comfortable place to think and create, the library is here for you. With access to thousands of books, scholarly journals, databases, and technology tools, as well as workshops and one-on-one research support, you'll find everything you need to thrive academically and explore new ideas.

Below you will find information about our top resources available through the Library, Idea Lab and the Humber Archives and Lakeshore Grounds Interpretive Centre.

Library Top 10

• Accessing Library Materials - books, videos & databases available on our website. 
• Textbook Collection - before you buy your textbook check to see if it is available through the library! Textbooks are available for 7 day loans.
• Research Help - at the Library Support Desk or book one-on-one research appointments with your faculty/program librarian!
• Program Resource Guides - curated library resources for your program area. 
  • Humber Program Guides
  • University of Guelph-Humber Program Guides
• Study Rooms - bookable online. 
• Available Tech - printers, computers, calculators, phone chargers, power banks and more!
• Learning Commons - study space open 24/7.
• Leisure Reads - cookbooks, graphic novels, magazines, fiction and more. 
• Streaming Videos - Marvel, Disney, musicals, documentaries and more.
• Game Collection - board and video games are available for 2 week loans. 

What's going on at the Idea Lab?

• Digital Assignment Support - infographics, simple websites, digital posters and more!
• Bookable Studio Spaces and Equipment:
  • North Campus - video studio, audio studio, 3D printers, Cricut Maker.
  • Lakeshore Campus - video and photography studio, audio studio, 3D printers, vinyl cutters, laser cutter, sewing and embroidery equipment.
  • Downtown Campus - audio studio.
• Open to ALL students, staff and faculty with any experience level. 
• It's FREE!
• Online Tutorials - video editing, podcasting, 3D printing and more. 
• In-person Workshops - on the Cricut, 3D printers and more.
• Equipment Available to Borrow - borrow camera kits, audio recorder kits, tripods and other accessories at the Lakeshore and Downtown campuses. 

What's going on at the Humber Archives and Lakeshore Grounds Interpretive Centre?

• The Archives at Humber
  • Resources and primary sources available in-person and online.
  • Access Online and in-person at the North Campus, 4th Floor in the Library.
  • Open Tuesday-Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm, and by appointment (online or in-person).
  • We have original materials you can handle, so to keep history safe - no food or drinks are allowed in this space.
• Lakeshore Grounds Interpretive Centre
  • Guided History Tours and Engaging Events - free and open to ALL visitors.
  • Exhibitions and Displays - history, storytelling and art.
  • Learning Resources, capstone and research support.
  • Open Monday-Friday from 10:00am to 2:00pm, Lakeshore Campus, 1st Floor WEL104.

Have Questions? We're Here to Help!
If you have any questions or need assistance, don’t hesitate to reach out to the library. You can check out our FAQ, or contact us by phone, email, or simply stop by during our open hours. We're always happy to help with research, resources, or anything else you might need.