Humber College Archives is excited to announce a newly published finding aid for the Wayson Choy fonds, consisting of the personal correspondence, records, research material and writing of celebrated Chinese Canadian author and former Humber College professor Wayson Choy. The finding aid was created by the Archives’ placement student from Mohawk College, Kathleen Prinsen, and includes material donated to the Archives by Michael Glassbourg.
The Wayson Choy fonds provides insight into the research and writing practices of a pioneering Chinese Canadian author and important member of the LGBTQ+ community. The fonds reflects an intent to create accurate historical fiction, with extensive research series focusing on topics including Chinatowns in Canada and internationally, Chinese Canadian immigration and history, notable Chinese Canadian individuals (some of whom are depicted in his debut work, 1995’s Trillium Prize-winning The Jade Peony), and personal genealogical research, including photographs of family members and documentation of family members’ immigration to Canada from China. Correspondence between Choy, his friends, colleagues and admirers depicts his respect for his craft and desire to support other writers.
The file listing and a selection of newly digitized items of interest can be viewed on our website, https://archives.humber.ca/wayson-choy-fonds. To explore The Wayson Choy fonds in depth, please visit us at the Humber Archives (LRC4068) where the items can be viewed during opening hours, 10-3 pm Monday to Friday. Any questions, please contact archives@humber.ca.
0 Comments.