Resource Guides: Digital Communications: Explore Library eResources

Find Documentaries

CBC Curio This link opens in a new window
Contains educational streaming videos from CBC and Radio-Canada.
National Film Board This link opens in a new window
Contains Canadian streaming videos productions such as documentaries, animation, and alternative dramas from the National Film Board of Canada.
Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new window
Contains documentaries, theatrical releases, and training films as well as the Criterion Collection.

Passport, IBISWorld, and Marketline contain company and industry reports.

Statista contains a huge variety of charts, statistics, and other information, including customer profiles, company and industry information.

Business Source Complete contains PESTLE analysis in its Country Profiles

Passport This link opens in a new window
Contains Canadian and international company and industry reports on consumer goods and services. (Note for Mac users: there are known issues if you access the portal with Firefox. Please use a different browser.)
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Contains reports on Canadian industries. The industry reports include industry performance, outlook, product, markets, competitive landscape, major companies, and operating conditions.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Marketline, this database contains Canadian and international company reports, industry reports, country reports, and influencer reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Contains statistics, charts, tables, and public opinion polls on marketing, demographics, consumers, communication, technology, politics, health, and leisure.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.

Vividata and Media Technology Monitor show the results of surveys of Canadian consumers

Vividata includes demographic, spending, media consumption and psychographic information on consumers over the age of 14

Media Technology Monitor includes information on Canadians' media use by demographic sector, geography and type of media.

Vividata This link opens in a new window
Contains Canadian consumer spending, media habits, and psychographics based on the Survey of the Canadian Consumer.
Media Technology Monitor (MTM) Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains reports and data analysis from a survey of 12,000 Canadians' media habits, technology ownership and use conducted by CBC-Radio Canada since 2004.

A general search for journal articles is best done in the Library Search on the Library home page.

If you are getting too many, or not enough on topic results, try one of the smaller databases listed below:

Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and trade publication articles on communication, media studies, and public relations.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, books, reference works, conference proceedings, dissertations, blogs, and podcasts on business, current events, and education in Canada.
ABI/Inform This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines on business and economics; First Research industry reports, Economist Intelligence Unit commodity reports and country reports and Oxford Economics country industry forecasts.

Or you can go bigger and search Google Scholar (linked to Humber resources)

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link connects Google Scholar to the Library holdings. The Access from Humber link in the right-hand column of results will take you the Library resources.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Contains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Contains current issues of popular magazines including Maclean’s, National Geographic, Rolling Stone, The New Yorker, The Walrus, Today’s Parent, Toronto Life, Vogue, American Cinematographer, and more. Download the Flipster mobile app (Android or Apple) to read on the go.