Skip to Main Content

Personal Support Worker

This guide has been developed to introduce Personal Support Worker students to Humber Libraries' resources and services, and to help with research.

Discover/Suggested Databases

Humber Libraries' Discover search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of Discover as a "Google" search for the library.

With Discover you can:

  • Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
  • Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
  • Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date;
  • Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.

 The video below explains how to start your search for information at library.humber.ca

Suggested Databases

While Discover searches a wide range of the library's collection, a search within a specific database offers advanced search functionality. If your results in Discover are too broad or unfocused, try these health databases. 

Refine Your Search

AND finds records with all of your terms/keywords and narrows your search.

OR finds records with any of the terms and broadens your search.

Truncation finds records with a term's various endings (ie. nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing, nursed, etc.).

Fixing Search Problems

Zero Results

  • first check your spelling :). And don't forget that British (paediatric) and American (maternal labor) spelling might effect your search results
  • try using a term that might be more inclusive. For example, if your search yields no results for achondroplasia, then try dwarfism, or even try musculoskeletal then AND this term with disorder* OR condition.

Too Few Results

  • use truncation and OR (ie. baby OR babies OR infant* OR toddler*), (heart OR cardiac) to expand the results
  • find a CINAHL Heading subject and click the Explode box to find all articles indexed with terms relating to your heading
  • search for articles listed in the bibliographies at the end of relevant articles that you do find
  • perform an Author field search for the names of relevant authors who are listed in these bibliographies
  • click on Find Similar Results (Ebsco databases) or Find more documents like this (Proquest) from the full record page of a relevant article
  • try Cited References (CINAHL) or References (Proquest) on the search results page for more references
  • try the Social Sciences grouping of databases if your topic is geared to social, psychological, or family issues

Non-relevant Results

  • use proper subject headings. For example, CINAHL uses Psychiatric Nursing rather than Mental Health Nursing
  • find a relevant article in your list of results, and use its proper subject headings to redo your search
  • try the Social Sciences grouping of databases

Too Many Results

  • if your search yields too many results (ie. diabetes), use AND to make it more specific (ie. diabetes AND therapy AND adult)
  • search for your terms in the Title field (from the pull-down menu on the search box)
  • use database-specific proper Subject headings
  • in CINAHL try specific Subheadings (from your blue hot-linked subject term appearing after a CINAHL Headings search)
  • find a CINAHL Heading subject and click the Major Concept box to see articles that emphasize your subject
  • use more limiters (ie. date range, publication type, special interest groupings, document type, journal title etc.