Resource Guides: Criminal Justice: Explore Library Collections

Legal Databases

Finding Cases, Legislation and Law Journals.

Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive collection of Canadian case law, legislation, and secondary sources from LawSource and CriminalSource, including: Canadian Abridgment Digests, Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and Martin’s Annual Criminal Code.
Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Contains statutes and case law from Canadian federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Contains legal information, including case summaries, Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal journal articles, and some legal textbooks.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains Canadian and international law journals, Canada Supreme Court Reports, Provincial Statutes of Canada and Constitutions of the World.

Explore key Criminal Justice databases to find academic journal articles for your research assignments.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on criminal justice subjects including criminology, forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Contains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Contains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.