Librarian
Library Search
Library Search is our comprehensive search tool - think of it as a "Google" search for the Library.
With Library Search you can:
- Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box.
- Search a wide range of article databases from one place.
- Filter your results by item type, library location, subject terms or date.
- Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.
You can find the search box at the top of every page on the Library website. Start your search at library.humber.ca
View the video below for a demonstration of how to find books, peer reviewed articles and more at the Library.
Key Databases
Explore our Social Science databases to find journal articles and more for your research assignments.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedia and dictionaries. Filter to academic and long entries for in-depth references and definitions.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), a classification manual used by mental health professionals.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis database allows you to search by age groups.
Childhood (birth - 12 yrs)
Neonatal (birth - 1 mo)
Infancy (2 - 23 mo)
Preschool Age (2 - 5 yrs)
School Age (6 - 12)
Adolescence (13 - 17 yrs) - SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowContains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts, citations, and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, books, and conference papers on the social, physical, medical, and life sciences.
CYC-Net + RCYCP
The International Child and Youth Care Network (CYC-Net) is a registered non-profit and public benefit organisation in South Africa and Not-For-Profit-Corporation in Canada running in terms of its own Constitution.
It's main objectives are "to promote and facilitate reading, learning, information sharing, discussion, networking, support and accountable practice amongst all who work with children, youth and families in difficulty.” – (From the CYC-Net Constitution)
- CYC-NetThe International Child and Youth Care Network website
- CYC-Online e-journalArticles from this International Youth and Child Care Network journal are available on the CYC website.
- Relational Child & Youth Care Practice (RCYCP)Relational Child and Youth Care Practice is committed to promoting and supporting the profession of Child and Youth Care through disseminating the knowledge and experience of individuals involved in the day-to-day lives of young people This commitment is founded upon the belief that all human issues, including personal growth and development, are essentially “relational”. Not all articles are peer reviewed.
Current News Collections
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowContains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
Selected Journals
- CYC ChronicleLocation: Lakeshore Library
Bi-monthly magazine
Legal Databases
- Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new windowContains statutes and case law from Canadian federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
Pharmacotherapy
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new windowContains CPS (Canadian Pharmacists Association) information on drugs, vaccines, natural health products, medical devices, and evidence-based therapeutic information.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowContains evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on a wide range of pharmacological and biomedical topics.
- DSM-5 This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), a classification manual used by mental health professionals.