Librarian
Essential Search Tips
AND finds records with all of your terms/keywords and narrows your search.
OR finds records with any of the terms and broadens your search.
Truncation finds records with a term's various endings. For example, nurs* = nurse, nurses, nursing, nursed, etc.
Quotation marks search for a phrase instead of individual words. For example, "social media".
Finding Systematic Reviews
Humber LIbraries Page 1+ Search
- Type your keywords into the search box (for example - diabetes)
- On the search results page, click Advanced Search
- Next to AND change Any Field to Title
- Change contains to is(exact) and type systematic review
- Click Search
- Limit your results to Peer-reviewed Journals
Ovid Medline
- Go to Advanced Search
- Build a search for your topic as usual (contact the librarian if you are not sure how to do this)
- Type systematic review.ti into the search box
- AND the results of this search and the results of your topic search
For both these resources, you can expand your results by also searching in the title for the phrases scoping review or meta analysis.
Health Sciences Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine, and health sciences.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowPart of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. Contains the full-text of completed Cochrane Reviews and the protocols for ongoing reviews.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on a wide range of pharmacological and biomedical topics.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles from the National Library of Medicine's database in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and eBooks on behavioral and social science research.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, and dissertations on nursing and allied health.
- Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, and trade publications on nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts, citations, and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, books, and conference papers on the social, physical, medical, and life sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.