Librarian
Searching Page 1+
Humber Libraries' Page 1+ search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of it as a "Google" search for the library.
With Page 1+ you can:
- Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
- Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
- Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date.
- Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.
Start your search with Page 1+ at library.humber.ca
View the video below for a demonstration of how to find books, peer reviewed articles and more at Humber Libraries.
Research Databases
Explore key databases to find academic journal articles for your research assignments.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on criminal justice subjects including criminology, forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, trade journals, dissertations, and theses on medical and biomedical topics. It includes MEDLINE.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains citations and links to some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journals from MEDLINE and other sources on medical, life sciences, and biomedical topics.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publications on all branches of military and government topics.
Legal Databases
Finding Cases, Legislation and Law Journals.
- Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new windowContains an extensive collection of Canadian case law, legislation, and secondary sources from LawSource and CriminalSource, including: Canadian Abridgment Digests, Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and Martin’s Annual Criminal Code.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new windowContains statutes and case law from Canadian federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
- Quicklaw This link opens in a new windowContains legal information, including case summaries, Halsbury's Laws of Canada, legal journal articles, and some legal textbooks.
News Databases
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowContains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Browse the Collection
Browse the book collection by call number range:
| Criminal psychology and victimology | HV 6036 - 6250 |
| Crime prevention methods | HV 7431 |
| Computer security and data protection | QA 76.9 |
| Emergency management | HV 551.2 - 639 |
| Financial fraud - forensic accounting | KF 8968 |
| Forensic investigations and surveillance | HV 7551 - 8291 |
| Fraud prevention and investigation | HV 6690 - 6695 |
| Intelligence | UB 250 - 271 |
| Security measures - ethical issues | HM 851 |
| Video surveillance | TK 6680 |