Accessing Databases and Program Research Guides
Humber Libraries currently subscribes to a wide range of databases. We create program specific research guides to help facilitate easier access to databases by subject area.
Each year, new resources are trialed and reviewed for potential acquisition to ensure students have access to the best, most cost-effective, comprehensive, current sources available.
Sample Databases
See a list of all our databases library.humber.ca/atoz_landing
Business
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowNow known as GlobalData Explorer, this database contains Canadian and international company reports, industry reports, country reports, and influencer reports.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowMaps demographic, psychographic (Environics Prizm) and company information over geographic areas. Define a target market, pick a business location and/or learn about nearby competitors.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international company and industry reports on consumer goods and services. (Note for Mac users: there are known issues if you access the portal with Firefox. Please use a different browser.)
Health Sciences & Wellness
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine, and health sciences.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on a wide range of pharmacological and biomedical topics.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, and trade journals on a wide range of topics dealing with education.
Media & Creative Arts
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, conference papers, and books covering fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, interior design, and architecture.
- Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and trade publication articles on communication, media studies, and public relations.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowContains Grove Music Online, as well as the Oxford Companion to Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Social & Community Services
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
Liberal Arts & Sciences
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, book chapters, and primary source material on arts, science, language and literature.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowContains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
Applied Technology
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazine articles, IEEE guides, and standards and conference proceedings across all areas of engineering and technology. Make sure to choose Subscribed Content under Show on the results page.
- Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazine, and trade publication articles and conference proceeding covering artificial intelligence, mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, engineering, energy, and robotics and other applied science topics.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowContains interdisciplinary engineering eBooks, videos, case studies, and data visualizations.