Librarian
Key Databases
Explore key databases for your program to find academic journal articles for your research assignments.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains citations and links to some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journals from MEDLINE and other sources on medical, life sciences, and biomedical topics.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), a classification manual used by mental health professionals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts, citations, and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, books, and conference papers on the social, physical, medical, and life sciences.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowContains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine, and health sciences.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowContains evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, and dissertations on nursing and allied health.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, trade journals, and dissertations on behavioral, clinical, developmental, and social psychology.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and magazine articles on alternative and holistic approaches to health care and wellness.
Pharmacotherapy
Need help searching the DSM-5? Check out this instructional video from KPU Library.
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new windowContains CPS (Canadian Pharmacists Association) information on drugs, vaccines, natural health products, medical devices, and evidence-based therapeutic information.
- Merck ManualThe Manual contains symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in all fields of medicine.
Search Tips!
Choose keywords carefully
- Choose words specific to your topic
- Only use 2 or 3 main concepts
- Use AND to combine different concepts
Include synonyms
- Broaden your search
- Include medical and popular terminology
- Use OR to combine synonyms for the same concept
Filter your results
- Publication date - for example only items published in the past 5 years
- Resource type - for example only journal articles
Keep trying
- Add/remove search terms to limit/expand your search
- Try different databases
- Research often takes longer than expected