Resource Guides: Community and Justice Services: Explore Library Collections

Research Databases

Explore key Community and Justice Services databases to find academic journal articles for your research assignments.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Contains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on criminal justice subjects including criminology, forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazine articles, and ebooks on diversity studies.
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines related to Indigenous culture, health, and human geography in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.

News Databases

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Contains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.

Search Tips!

Choose keywords carefully

Choose words specific to your topic
Only use 2 or 3 main concepts
Use AND to combine different concepts

Include synonyms

Broaden your search
Include medical and popular terminology
Use OR to combine synonyms for the same concept

Filter your results

Publication date - for example only items published in the past 5 years
Resource type - for example only journal articles

Keep trying

Add/remove search terms to limit/expand your search
Try different databases
Research often takes longer than expected