Librarian
Key Databases
Explore key databases to find journal articles and more for your research assignments.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains citations and links to some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journals from MEDLINE and other sources on medical, life sciences, and biomedical topics.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts, citations, and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, books, and conference papers on the social, physical, medical, and life sciences.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), a classification manual used by mental health professionals.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine, and health sciences.
- Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, trade journals, and dissertations on behavioral, clinical, developmental, and social psychology.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, dissertations, magazines, and trade journals on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, dissertations, magazines, and trade journals on sociology and social work.
- JoVE Basic Psychology This link opens in a new windowPart of the Science Education collection, this video tutorial Library is dedicated to teaching key concepts and fundamental techniques.
Core Journals
For a full list of Library Journals, please visit this page.
Search Tips!
Choose keywords carefully
- Choose words specific to your topic
- Only use 2 or 3 main concepts
- Use AND to combine different concepts
Include synonyms
- Broaden your search
- Include medical and popular terminology
- Use OR to combine synonyms for the same concept
Filter your results
- Publication date - for example only items published in the past 5 years
- Resource type - for example only journal articles
Keep trying
- Add/remove search terms to limit/expand your search
- Try different databases
- Research often takes longer than expected