Business Librarian
Databases
Locate current articles on mediation, arbitration, negotiation, alternative dispute resolution and other topics by using the databases below. TIPS: For ADR topics focused on business such as contracts, labour or insurance, start with Business Source Complete or ABI/Inform Global. For ADR topics focused on community, social or family issues, start with SOCIndex or Academic Search Complete.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.
- ABI/Inform This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines on business and economics; First Research industry reports, Economist Intelligence Unit commodity reports and country reports and Oxford Economics country industry forecasts.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive high quality sociology database that features more that 1.9 million records. It includes full text coverage of journal articles, textbooks, monographs and conference papers.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAn excellent multidisciplinary database that includes articles on mediation, negotiation and arbitration.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, encyclopedia articles, practice guidelines, and more on the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- CBCA Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, books, reference works, conference proceedings, dissertations, blogs, and podcasts on business, current events, and education in Canada.
Recommended Journals
- Canadian Arbitration and Mediation JournalBack issues are available from the ADR Institute of Canada
- ADR ForumThis newsletter is available in print at the Lakeshore Library.
News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Canadian, US and international newspapers, and radio and tv broadcasts and transcripts. Also includes local Ontario newspapers like the Etobicoke Guardian.
Online Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance This link opens in a new windowProvides clear introductions to complex business topics such as finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems.
- Credo Reference500+ encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects