Librarian
Searching Page 1+
Humber Libraries' Page 1+ search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of it as a "Google" search for the library.
With Page 1+ you can:
- Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
- Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
- Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date.
- Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.
Start your search with Page 1+ at library.humber.ca
View the video below for a demonstration of how to find books, peer reviewed articles and more at Humber Libraries.
Research Databases
Explore key Criminal Justice databases to find academic journal articles for your research assignments.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on social sciences and humanities, health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, and material sciences and engineering.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowContains publications from public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, and university research centres.
- SocINDEX with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, magazines, and conference papers on sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, religion, and social work.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on criminal justice subjects including criminology, forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic articles and eBooks on the humanities and social sciences. Material is DRM-free.
News Databases
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowContains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
Search Tips!
Choose keywords carefully
- Choose words specific to your topic
- Only use 2 or 3 main concepts
- Use AND to combine different concepts
Include synonyms
- Broaden your search
- Include medical and popular terminology
- Use OR to combine synonyms for the same concept
Filter your results
- Publication date - for example only items published in the past 5 years
- Resource type - for example only journal articles
Keep trying
- Add/remove search terms to limit/expand your search
- Try different databases
- Research often takes longer than expected