Skip to main content

Firefighting Research Guide

This guide has been developed to introduce Firefighting students to Humber Libraries' resources and services, and to help with research.

Searching for Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic or 'scholarly' journal articles are those that have been researched and authored by professional researchers or experts in a particular field.

Unlike the entertainment or news-driven information commonly found in magazines and newspapers, scholarly journals have been written with an audience of researchers and academics in mind. For research, particularly within the field of health sciences, scholarly journal articles are the leading source of information.

 


Magazine and Journal Articles are often confused. When your instructor asks you to locate a journal article, do you know what you're looking for? The table below outlines some key differences between both sources of information.

 

Magazine Article Journal Article
Topic General or current interest Detailed examination of professional interest
Author


Non-professional journalist or freelancewriter

Professional, topical expert (qualifications required)
Purpose To inform or entertain To keep scholars current with new research
Audience General public    Professional or special interest groups
Example Maclean's Nursing Science Quarterly

 


Peer reviewed articles have undergone a process of evaluation by subject specific experts (peers) to ensure that information is accurate, high quality, and academically sound. Peer reviewed articles contain original research to be shared with researchers and other professionals.

Not all articles are peer reviewed. To find peer reviewed articles:

  • Look for a "Peer Review" or "refereed" search limiter when conducting your search (see example below)
  • Check the website of the publication your article was published in. Most journals will state whether the articles within are peer reviewed.

Searching for Journal Articles

Finding Articles using Discover by Topic

Discover is a great place to start your search for research articles. For information on how to get started with Discover, navigate to the Start Your Search with Discover area of this guide. To search for articles, enter your keywords into Discover. When on the results page, select Journal Article under the Content Type selection area on the left side of the page.

Looking for Articles within a Specific Journal?

Use Humber Libraries' Journal Holdings search (or Discover, by searching for the Journal title) to confirm whether a specific publication is available. 

Suggested Databases for Advanced Searching

While Discover searches a wide range of the library's collection, a search within a specific database offers advanced search functionality. If your results in Discover are too broad or unfocused, try some of the suggested databases on this page.

Tip: Not all journal databases function in the same way Discover does. If you're struggling to use any library resources, or can't seem to find the right information, contact the library for help.

Fixing Search Problems

Zero Results

  • first check your spelling :). And don't forget that British (paediatric) and American (maternal labor) spelling might effect your search results
  • try using a term that might be more inclusive. For example, if your search yields no results for achondroplasia, then try dwarfism, or even try musculoskeletal then AND this term with disorder* OR condition.

Too Few Results

  • use truncation and OR (ie. baby OR babies OR infant* OR toddler*), (heart OR cardiac) to expand the results
  • search for articles listed in the bibliographies at the end of relevant articles that you do find
  • perform an Author field search for the names of relevant authors who are listed in these bibliographies
  • try the Social Sciences grouping of databases if your topic is geared to social, psychological, or family issues

Non-relevant Results

  • find a relevant article in your list of results, and use its subject headings to redo your search
  • try the Social Sciences grouping of databases

Too Many Results

  • if your search yields too many results (ie. diabetes), use AND to make it more specific (ie. diabetes AND therapy AND adult)
  • search for your terms in the Title field (from the pull-down menu on the search box)
  • use database-specific proper Subject headings
  • use more limiters (ie. date range, publication type, special interest groupings, document type, journal title etc.