Skip to Main Content

Fire Services

This guide has been developed to introduce Firefighting students to Humber Libraries' resources and services, and to help with research.

Start Your Search with Discover

Humber Libraries' Discover search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of Discover as a "Google" search for the library.

With Discover you can:

  • Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
  • Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
  • Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date;
  • Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.

 The video below explains how to start your search for information at library.humber.ca

Searching for Journal Articles

Finding Articles using Discover by Topic

Discover is a great place to start your search for research articles. For information on how to get started with Discover, navigate to the Start Your Search with Discover area of this guide. To search for articles, enter your keywords into Discover. When on the results page, select Journal Article under the Content Type selection area on the left side of the page.

Looking for Articles within a Specific Journal?

Use Humber Libraries' Journal Holdings search (or Discover, by searching for the Journal title) to confirm whether a specific publication is available. 

Suggested Databases for Advanced Searching

While Discover searches a wide range of the library's collection, a search within a specific database offers advanced search functionality. If your results in Discover are too broad or unfocused, try some of the suggested databases on this page.

Tip: Not all journal databases function in the same way Discover does. If you're struggling to use any library resources, or can't seem to find the right information, contact the library for help.

Searching for Books and Reference Works

When researching your topic, consider both print and electronic books and reference works as valuable resources of information.

Reference works such as encyclopedias are perfect for obtaining a clear and concise overview of a topic, while more lengthy works might offer in-depth analysis and discussion.

To search for books and eBooks, enter your keywords into Discover. When on the results page, select Book/eBook under the Content Type selection area on the left side of the page.

Tip: eBooks can be accessed anytime, anywhere - just log in to Humber Libraries using your n-number and password. To sign out print materials from the library, head to the library, and don't forget to bring a form of ID with you. For more information or help finding books, ask a Library staff member.