Skip to main content

BHSW1501: Global Health Issues

BHSW1501: Global Health Issues resources and research support from Humber Libraries.

Discover/Suggested Databases

Humber Libraries' Discover search is a broad, multidisciplinary search tool - think of Discover as a "Google" search for the library.

With Discover you can:

  • Search for books, articles and more all from the same search box;
  • Search a wide range of article databases from one place;
  • Filter your results by content type, library location, subject terms or date;
  • Easily limit your searches to full-text articles or peer-reviewed journals.

 The video below explains how to start your search for information at library.humber.ca

Suggested Databases

While Discover searches a wide range of the library's collection, a search within a specific database offers advanced search functionality. If your results in Discover are too broad or unfocused, try these health databases. 

Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles have undergone a process of evaluation by subject specific experts (peers) to ensure that information is accurate, high quality, and academically sound. Peer reviewed articles contain original research to be shared with researchers and other professionals.

Not all articles are peer reviewed. To find peer reviewed articles:

  • Look for a "Peer Review" or "refereed" search limiter when conducting your search (see example below)
  • Check the website of the publication your article was published in. Most journals will state whether the articles within are peer reviewed.

Resource Types & Common Characteristics

Resource Type

Common Characteristics

Popular Magazine Article

(online or in print)

  • Audience: nonprofessional; anyone
  • Appearance: glossy photos, many advertisements
  • Content: general interest articles, no reference lists, simple language
  • Authors: largely staff writers, often unknown
  • Examples: Maclean’s, Men’s Health, Cosmopolitan

Scholarly, Peer Reviewed Journal Article

(online or in print)

  • Audience: professionals, researchers, academics
  • Appearance: no advertisements, plain, black & white
  • Content: original research, literature reviews, often contain abstracts, academic/professional language, often contain statistics/diagrams, long reference lists, peer-reviewed, academic
  • Authors: many authors, with many credentials and affiliations
  • Examples: Journal of Advanced Nursing, Nursing Leadership, Canadian Journal of Nursing Research

Trade Magazine/Journal Article

(online or in print)

  • Audience: industry professionals, organization/association members
  • Appearance: glossy photos, most advertisements related to industry
  • Content: current industry trends, new products or techniques, organizational news, articles may have short reference list, may contain professional language
  • Authors: industry professionals, organization/association members
  • Examples: RN Journal, Canadian Nurse

Website/Blog

(online or in print)

  • Audience: varies
  • Content: varies
  • Authors: vary in credentials, sometimes difficult to identify

Government/Association
Publication and Information

(online or in print)

  • Content: published and written by an association or a government, often includes country-specific data and statistics
  • Authors: government workers, association members
  • Examples: Health Canada, Statistics Canada, Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario

Book

 (online [eBook] or in print)

  • Authors: vary in credentials
  • Content: varies

Newspaper Article

(online or in print)

  • Audience: nonprofessional; anyone
  • Content: current, journalistic, simple language, no reference list
  • Authors: Writers/Journalists
  • Examples: Toronto Star, The Guardian, the New York Times