Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. It is a multi-disciplinary database.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, conference papers, and books covering fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, interior design, and architecture.
- ASTM Standards This link opens in a new windowContains the Annual Book of ASTM (American Society for Testing Materials) Standards for materials and products.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- CBCA Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, books, reference works, conference proceedings, dissertations, blogs, and podcasts on business, current events, and education in Canada.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Collection This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and eBooks on gardening, focusing on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, and magazines on climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContains reports on Canadian industries. The industry reports include industry performance, outlook, product, markets, competitive landscape, major companies, and operating conditions.
- Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowThe 100 physical samples are located in NX114b not in the Humber Library.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international company and industry reports on consumer goods and services. (Note for Mac users: there are known issues if you access the portal with Firefox. Please use a different browser.)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, book chapters, and primary source material on arts, science, language and literature. In addition, contains images of paintings, sculpture, decorative arts, photography, architecture, garden, and landscapes, maps, fashion, costumes, and jewellery.
Find Company, Industry, Consumer and Demographic Information
Vividata contains information on Canadian consumer behaviour, media consumption and opinions.
Simply Analytics contains demographic and psychographic information on large and small geographic areas in Canada.
Media Technology Monitor contains information on Canadians' media consumption.
Passport, IBISWorld, and Marketline contain company and industry reports.
Statista contains a huge variety of charts, statistics, and other information.
Business Source Complete contains PESTLE analysis in its Country Profiles
- Vividata This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian consumer spending, media habits, and psychographics based on the Survey of the Canadian Consumer.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowMaps demographic, psychographic (Environics Prizm) and company information over geographic areas. Define a target market, pick a business location and/or learn about nearby competitors.
- Media Technology Monitor (MTM) Reports This link opens in a new windowContains reports and data analysis from a survey of 12,000 Canadians' media habits, technology ownership and use conducted by CBC-Radio Canada since 2004.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international company and industry reports on consumer goods and services. (Note for Mac users: there are known issues if you access the portal with Firefox. Please use a different browser.)
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContains reports on Canadian industries. The industry reports include industry performance, outlook, product, markets, competitive landscape, major companies, and operating conditions.
- GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Marketline, this database contains Canadian and international company reports, industry reports, country reports, and influencer reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowContains statistics, charts, tables, and public opinion polls on marketing, demographics, consumers, communication, technology, politics, health, and leisure.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.