Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research

Print Books

Print Law Books

There are two options to search for print books available in the Library.

  • Use this link to the Discover search to find print books. Enter your topic, title, author, etc. in the search box at the top of the page.
  • Use the Library Catalogue to find relevant books or other material.  Search by title, author, subject or keyword.
    • For example if you are looking for a legal dictionary enter in the keyword search the words - law and dictionary; this will retrieve a number of legal dictionaries.

eBook Collections

Irwin Law eBook Collection

  • This collection contains over 100 Canadian titles and new titles are added regularly as published. Titles include: Criminal LawThe Law of Torts, and the The Law of Evidence.

QuickLaw eBooks

  • Find the following legal publications in QuickLaw by typing in the book title in the main search box:
  • VIDEO: Finding eBook Titles In Quicklaw
    • Canadian Contract Law, 4th Edition
    • Canadian Employment Law
    • Canadian Immigration & Refugee Law Practice
    • Canadian Patent Law, 3rd Edition
    • Canadian Tort Law, 10th Edition
    • Criminal Law (Manning, Mewett & Sankoff), 5th Edition
    • Real Estate Practice in Ontario8th Edition
    • Residential Tenancies in Ontario
    • The Law of Evidence, 5th Edition
    • The Canadian Law of Mortgages of Land, 2nd Edition
    • The Law of Libel, 4th Edition

LawSource / Westlaw eBooks

Encyclopaedias / Digests

Each encyclopedia offers a slightly different perspective and is updated on a different schedule. Halsburys Laws of Canada, HLC, is national in scope, while Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, CED, provides  national coverage with some regional specialization. HLC reads more like a treaties, whereas the CED’s discussions are briefer.

Canadian Abridgment
A comprehensive collection of case digests, or summaries, of Canadian case law that is organized by legal issue according to a single taxonomy (The Canadian Abridgment Key Classification System). This collection covers virtually every case reported in Canada since 1803, and every reported or unreported case received from the courts since 1986, with the exception of Quebec civil law cases.

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest or CED
A comprehensive statement of Ontario and Western law - provincial, federal and common law as derived from legislation and case law.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada
This publication contains clearly written statements of Canadian legal principle based on common law and legislation, and indicates where the law differs as between jurisdictions.