Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You may be required to retrieve articles authored by a nurse for your research - depending on the database you are using, you can limit your search by author qualification.
Tips for Finding Nurse Authored Articles
Includes materials on the topics of nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine and health sciences.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Provides access to over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines including nursing and other allied health professions.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Provides full text coverage of over 470 periodicals that cover nursing and allied health professions such as occupational therapy.
Includes the Health & Life Sciences and the Social & Behavioural Sciences College Edition journals collections.
- When conducting a search, enter RN, RPN, PN, or other nursing credentials as a keyword. Check results carefully to ensure that the author is a nurse (see below).
Read carefully! Look at article bylines or author biographies (often on the first or last page of an article) for RN (Registered Nurse), RPN (Registered Practical Nurse), or other professional credentials. If a credential is unfamiliar (i.e., ARNP = Advanced Registered Nurse Practicioner) try a google search to determine nursing qualifications.
- For a broad search for articles with a nursing perspective or focused on the nursing profession, add "nurs*" as a keyword.
The asterisk (*) acts as a 'wildcard' and enables a broad search for words such as "nurse," "nurses," "nursing," etc. Adding this term to your search can help retrieve articles that may not be written by nurses, but those that are published in nursing or other healthcare journals or have a nursing focus.