Your Librarian
Find Advertisements
- Adforum This link opens in a new windowContains print, digital, TV, magazine, and radio advertising campaigns (many of them award-winning) and advertising agency profiles.
Find Award-Winning Advertising Cases
- Warc This link opens in a new windowContains material from the World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) including case studies of award-winning advertising campaigns, strategy, and best practices guides, advertising trends, surveys, and reports.
Find Information about Canadian Consumers
- Media Technology Monitor (MTM) Reports This link opens in a new windowContains reports and data analysis from a survey of 12,000 Canadians' media habits, technology ownership and use conducted by CBC-Radio Canada since 2004.
- Vividata This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian consumer spending, media habits, and psychographics based on the Survey of the Canadian Consumer.
Find Company, Industry, Consumer and Demographic Information
Vividata contains information on Canadian consumer behaviour, media consumption and opinions.
Simply Analytics contains demographic and psychographic information on large and small geographic areas in Canada.
Media Technology Monitor contains information on Canadians' media consumption.
Passport, IBISWorld, and Marketline contain company and industry reports.
Statista contains a huge variety of charts, statistics, and other information, including customer profiles, company and industry information.
Business Source Complete contains PESTLE analysis in its Country Profiles
- Vividata This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian consumer spending, media habits, and psychographics based on the Survey of the Canadian Consumer.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowMaps demographic, psychographic (Environics Prizm) and company information over geographic areas. Define a target market, pick a business location and/or learn about nearby competitors.
- Media Technology Monitor (MTM) Reports This link opens in a new windowContains reports and data analysis from a survey of 12,000 Canadians' media habits, technology ownership and use conducted by CBC-Radio Canada since 2004.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international company and industry reports on consumer goods and services. (Note for Mac users: there are known issues if you access the portal with Firefox. Please use a different browser.)
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContains reports on Canadian industries. The industry reports include industry performance, outlook, product, markets, competitive landscape, major companies, and operating conditions.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international company reports, industry reports, country reports, and influencer reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowContains statistics, charts, tables, and public opinion polls on marketing, demographics, consumers, communication, technology, politics, health, and leisure.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.
Find Advertising Rates
- CARDonline This link opens in a new windowContains advertising rates, data, and media planning information. You cannot create reports or media lists with our subscription.
- Warc This link opens in a new windowContains material from the World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) including case studies of award-winning advertising campaigns, strategy, and best practices guides, advertising trends, surveys, and reports.
Find Journal Articles
A general search for journal articles is best done in the Page 1+ search box on the Library home page.
If you are getting too many, or not enough on topic, results, try one of the smaller databases listed below:
- Communications and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and trade publication articles on communication, media studies, and public relations.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on business and economics, as well as company, industry, and country reports.
- CBCA Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, books, reference works, conference proceedings, dissertations, blogs, and podcasts on business, current events, and education in Canada.
- ABI/Inform This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines on business and economics; First Research industry reports, Economist Intelligence Unit commodity reports and country reports and Oxford Economics country industry forecasts.
Or you could go BIGGER and search Google Scholar linked to Humber resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowThis link connects Google Scholar to Humber Libraries holdings. The Access from Humber link in the right-hand column of results will take you Humber Libraries resources.
Find Newspaper and Magazine Articles
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowContains current and recent newspapers from 70 countries in 37 languages in the original full-page and full-colour print format.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains articles from national and local Canadian newspapers. Includes The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun, among others.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowContains national and local U.S. newspapers. Features The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains international and domestic newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, company financial information, industry and market news, legal resources, medical news, abstracts, and country profiles.
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Canadian, US and international newspapers, and radio and tv broadcasts and transcripts. Also includes local Ontario newspapers like the Etobicoke Guardian.
- ABI/Inform This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, and magazines on business and economics; First Research industry reports, Economist Intelligence Unit commodity reports and country reports and Oxford Economics country industry forecasts.
- CBCA Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, books, reference works, conference proceedings, dissertations, blogs, and podcasts on business, current events, and education in Canada.
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowContains current issues of popular magazines including Maclean’s, National Geographic, Rolling Stone, The New Yorker, The Walrus, Today’s Parent, Toronto Life, Vogue, American Cinematographer, and more. Download the Flipster mobile app (Android or Apple) to read on the go.