Librarian
Looking for an introduction to searching?
Developing a Topic
Health Sciences Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on nursing, allied health, consumer health, biomedicine, complementary medicine, and health sciences.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new windowPart of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. Contains the full-text of completed Cochrane Reviews and the protocols for ongoing reviews.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on a wide range of pharmacological and biomedical topics.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles from the National Library of Medicine's database in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts and some full-text peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles and eBooks on behavioral and social science research.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles on the social and behavioral sciences.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, eBooks, and dissertations on nursing and allied health.
- Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed and other academic journal articles, magazines, and trade publications on nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
Recognising Scholarly Resources
For your assignments, you will often be instructed to find "scholary" or "academic" or "peer-reviewed" articles. This video will explain what these are and how to recognise them.